nav open nav close
Search
Contact Donate
Menu
Adopt Donate

About Henry

Hey there, I'm Henry! I'm a friendly young boy looking for a loving home to call my own. I've been moved around quite a bit in my short life, so I'd really like a stable home where I can fully decompress and become a treasured member of the family.

My happy place is outdoors, so I hope to find an active forever family that loves getting outside and exploring! I'm told there's lots of people like that in the Bow Valley, so I hope that means we can start adventuring together soon. For what a strong dog I am, most of the time I'm a loose leash walking pro, and I'd make the most amazing running partner or trail dog. I hear there's lots of cool outdoor sports in the valley too, like paddleboarding, mountain biking, and skijoring, and I think I'd like to try them all out. I'm calmest outdoors, and can get a bit pent up left alone inside and confined spaces like crates are hard for me. Someone home more often than not would be helpful until I feel safe and secure. A home with a backyard, or an acreage lifestyle would be ideal for me, but I think I'd be okay with someone that gets outside lots and wants to bring me with them. When I'm feeling anxious about people leaving, or when I get overstimulated, I can resort to jumping and using my mouth to try to get what I want (a typical Shepherd trait). This is a habit I'm working on curbing, but a confident dog owner that is comfortable with setting firm boundaries with big dogs will be the best fit while I learn my own strength, how to control my impulses, and that there are better ways of communicating what I want.

After a day of adventuring in the great outdoors, I'd love to cozy up in bed for a snuggle (I'll be the big spoon) and am such a snuggly teddy bear. I also know my basic commands already and have great boundaries, so I really am a well-mannered boy most of the time. I've been socialized around other dogs and previously went to the off leash dog park where I loved to run around. I've been around kids in the past and am friendly, but until I learn better impulse control, I'll be looking for an adult-only home or with confident teens that aren't intimidated by me. I'm food motivated which makes training a breeze, and I could chase after a tennis ball for hours!

After a lot of instability in my young life, I'm ready to settle down in an active and outdoorsy forever home that loves the traits of Shepherd/Husky mixes. Get in touch with the folks at the shelter to come meet me and see for yourself just how great I am!

Dog-friendly: Yes
Cat-friendly: Yes
Kid-friendly: Yes, recommend dog-savvy aged 16+ due to size and jumping/excitability
Do I Need Special Care?: No

Interested?! Please fill out our adoption application and submit to adopt@bowvalleyspca.org. Upon approval you will be contacted to arrange an appointment time to come meet me!